Lucknow AchieversLucknow Culture

Constitution Day of India: Samvidhan Diwas


26th November is recognized as Constitution day of India also known as Samvidhan Diwas.  This day is also celebrated as National Law Day. The Constitution of India is the supreme law of India and it was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on 26th November 1949 and became effective on 26th January 1950.

In 1928, the All Parties Conference made a committee in Lucknow to prepare the Constitution of India, which was known as the Nehru Report. On 6th December 1946, Constituent Assembly was formed and on 11th December 1946 the Assembly appointed Dr. Rajendra Prasad as its president,  H. C. Mukherjee as its vice-chairman and B. N. Rau as constitutional legal adviser. There were initially 389 members in total, which declined to 299 after partition. On 29th August 1947 a drafting committee was appointed with Dr. B. R. Ambedkar as its Chairman. The other six members of committee were Munshi, Muhammed Sadulla, Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer, N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar, Khaitan and Mitter. On 26th November 1949, the constitution of India was passed and adopted by the assembly. The process took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days and came in to force on 26th January 1950.

The constitution declares India a sovereign, socialist, secular, and democratic republic, assures its citizens justice, equality and liberty, and endeavors to promote fraternity. The document lays down the framework that demarcates fundamental political code, structure, procedures, powers, and duties of government institutions and sets out fundamental rights, directive principles, and the duties of citizens. It is the longest written constitution of any country

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Comment here